Atlantic Region Philosophers Association
 The 1998 Conference was held at

St Francis Xavier University
Friday, October 16 - Saturday October 17, 1998

For future conferences, check the web page at

For those interested, information on the 1998 conference is included below.

Final programme

Registration fees and meal/banquet information

The Department of Philosophy at St Francis Xavier is pleased to invite philosophers from the Atlantic region and elsewhere to the 1998 ARPA meeting. Sessions will begin in the early afternoon of Friday, October 16 and continue until the late afternoon of Saturday, October 17. The conference will conclude with an evening banquet on Saturday evening.

1998 conference theme: Justice and Communities

St Francis Xavier University has long been known for its role in national and international education, and particularly for the activities of the Antigonish movement, its Extension Department, and the Coady International Institute which annually welcomes some 60 students from developing countries to participate in its Diploma Program in Social Development

In line with this tradition, and in light with recent philosophical discussion concerning justice, cross-cultural understanding, multi-culturalism, ethnicity, and the possibility of building communities, the programme organisers have selected "Justice and Communities" as the theme for this year's conference.

Keynote speaker:

Among the invited speakers is Professor Peter McCormick, FRSC, of the University of Ottawa, whose work includes studies of compassion, suffering and famine. The title of Professor McCormick's paper will be:

"The Negative Sublime: Ethics at the Dark Borders of Reason"
Other speakers will include: Robert Ansell (Saint Mary's) & Wendy Archer (Dalhousie); Ian Wilks (Acadia); Frank Cronin (St Thomas); James R Mensch (St Francis Xavier); Steven Burns (Dalhousie); Nathan Brett  (Dalhousie); Richmond Campbell (Dalhousie);  Jack A. Iwanicki (UNB); Stephen Boos  (King's College, Halifax); Gary E. Dann (Waterloo/Strasbourg); Paul Gooch (Toronto); Geoff Cupit (Waikato, New Zealand); Graeme Hunter (Ottawa/St Francis Xavier); David J. Garren (SUNY Buffalo);  Tom Vinci (Dalhousie); Robert Scott Stewart and Rod Nicholls (University College of Cape Breton); Rowland Marshall (St Mary’s); James Wong (Wilfrid Laurier); David Checkland (Ryerson Polytechnic University); Vanessa MacPherson (Memorial); Anna Wilks (Acadia).

Further Information:

ARPA Conference Organising Committee,
C/o Professor William Sweet,
Department of Philosophy, St Francis Xavier University,
Antigonish, NS B2G 2W5
Fax 902 867 3243; office telephone 902 867 2341; e-mail:

Membership dues and fees:

ARPA members (and potential members) are also reminded that 1998 membership dues ($20) are now payable. (Members receive a $20 reduction on the conference registration fee.) Please send a cheque to the Organising Committee, payable to St Francis Xavier University.