The 3rd Workshop on High Performance Scientific and Engineering Computing with Applications (HPSECA-01)

  Valencia, Spain

September 03-07, 2001

 in conjunction with

  • Advance Program

  • Scope and Interests:

    Parallel and distributed scientific and engineering computing has become a key technology which will play an important part in determining, or at least shaping, future research and development activities in many academic and industrial branches. This special workshop is to bring together computer scientists, applied mathematicians and researchers to present, discuss and exchange idea, results, work in progress and experience of research  in the area of parallel and distributed computing for problems in science and engineering applications.

    Among the main topics (but not limited to) are:

    Submission Information:

       Authors should send one copy of paper in either PS or PDF format at most 15 pages to the workshop organizers  ( or via electronic mail or three copies via postal mail. Contributions will be reviewed by at least three reviewers from both Program Committee and external reviewers for relevance and technical contents on basis of papers. Accepted papers with at most 8 pages will be published by IEEE Computer Society Press as proceedings of the ICPP 2001 workshops. A special issue of the International Journal of High Performance Computing Applications is scheduled.

          Further information about the conference proceedings and  registration fee can be found by web sites:

    Important Deadlines:

    Paper submission Due
     (April 1, 2001!!)
    Notification of Acceptance
     May 18, 2001
    Final camera-ready paper
    June 1, 2001

    Workshop Organizers:

    Prof. Laurence T. Yang (chair) 
    Department of Computer Science
    PO Box 5000, 
    St. Francis Xavier University
    Antigonish, B2G 2W5, Nova Scotia, Canada
    Prof. Yi Pan (Co-Chair)
         Department of Computer Science, 
         Georgia State University 
          Atlanta, GA 30303

    Technical Committee:

    Hamid R. Arabnia
    University of Georgia, USA
    David A. Bader University of New Mexico, USA
    Prith Banerjee Northwestern University, USA
    Subhash Bhalla University of Aizu, Japan
    Petter Bjorstad University of Bergen, Norway
    Martin Buecker
    Aachen University of Technology, Germany
    Rajkumar Buyya Monash University, Australia
    Ramon Doallo
    Universidade da Coruna, Spain
    Jack Dongarra University of Tennessee  and Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
    Len Freeman 
    University of Manchester, UK
    John Gustafson
    Ames National Laboratory, USA
    Weijia Jia City University of Hong Kong, P. R. China
    Lei Li
    Hosei University, Japan
    Sanli Li Tsinghua University, P. R. China
    Hai-xiang Lin Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
    Xiaola Lin               University of Hong Kong, P. R, China
    Svetozar Margenov
    Center Laboratory for Parallel Progressing,
    Bulgarian Academy of Science, Bulgaria
    Graham Megson University of Reading, UK
    Kalman Z. Meth
    IBM Haifa Research Laboratory, Israel
     Russ Miller  State University of New York, Buffalo, USA
    Michael K. Ng
    University of HongKong, P. R. China
    Marcin Paprzycki University of Southern Mississippi, USA
     Bernard Philippe IRISA, France
    Constantine Polychronopoulos University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
    Enrique Quintana-Orti University of Jaime I, Spain
    Thomas Rauber
    Universitat Halle-Wittenberg, Germany
    Jose D. P. Rolim University of Geneva,  Switzerland
    Gudula Runger Technische Universitat Chemnitz, Germany
    Sartaj Sahni University of Florida, USA
    Ahmed Sameh Purdue University, USA
    Olaf Schenk
     University of Basel, Switzerland
    Ruth E. Shaw University of New Brunswick, Canada
    Peter Strazdins
    Australian National University, Australia
    Eric de Sturler
    University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
    Xian-He Sun 
    Illinois Institute of Technology, USA
    Luciano Tarricone
    University of Perrugia, Italy
    Karen Tomko Wright State University, USA 
    Kevin Kuang-hui Tseng
    Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
    Zhiwei Xu National Center for Intelligent Computing Systems, P. R.China
    Mateo Valero Universidad Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain
    Robert van de Geijn University of Texas at Austin, USA
    Jie Wu Florida Atlantic University, USA
    Zahari Zlatev
    National Environmental Research Institute, Denmark
    Jun Zhang  University of Kentucky, USA
    Xiaodong  Zhang
        College of William and Mary, USA
    Weimin Zheng Tsinghua University, P. R. China
    Bingbing Zhou
    Deakin University, Australia
    Albert Y. Zomaya University of West Australia, Australia